Kabaddi Competitions Details

Kabaddi World Cup

The Kabaddi World Cup is an outdoor , international standard-style kabaddi contest that is organized by the International Kabaddi Federation (IKF) with participation by men’s as well as women’s national teams. It was held in 2004, 2007 and in 2016. All the tournaments have ended with India. India defeated Iran by 38-29 in the final of the championship game to take the title for 2016.

After the formation of a new kabaddi association called the World Kabaddi Federation, a 2019 Kabaddi World Cup was held in April 2019 in Malacca, Malaysia. It was the largest world event in the history of Kabaddi, consisting of 32 men’s teams and 24 women’s teams.

Asian Games

Kabaddi was played as a demo event during the First Asian Games in 1951, and again in 1982, before becoming an event that was medal-worthy for the first time in 1990.

There was a time when the Indian national team won every women’s and men’s kabaddi competition in the Asian Games from 2002 through 2014. At this year’s Asian Games, Iran became the first nation other than India to take home gold medals in kabaddi and India’s men’s team won bronze, and India’s women’s team being beaten by Iran to take home silver.

Pro Kabaddi League

The Pro Kabaddi League was established in 2014. The organization was modelled upon that of the Indian Premier League of Twenty20 cricket, with a heavy attention to marketing, the backing of local broadcaster Star Sports, and changes to the rules of the sport and its style of play to make it more suitable to be watched by a television audience. In the course of its existence, the Pro Kabaddi League quickly became a huge success in terms of ratings on Indian television; the year 2014 was watched by at least 435 million viewers over the duration of the season and the inaugural championship game was seen by 98.6 million spectators.

Additional rules are utilized to play in the Pro Kabaddi League to encourage scoring. If an opponent’s team has 3 or less players, tackles are worth two points instead. Furthermore, if a team has two raids that are empty consecutively, the second raider has to score one point or they’ll be disqualified, and the opponent is awarded points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *